intrest.blogg.se

Ever forward but slowly
Ever forward but slowly











ever forward but slowly
  1. #EVER FORWARD BUT SLOWLY HOW TO#
  2. #EVER FORWARD BUT SLOWLY WINDOWS#

So graceful wasn't typically used to describe me. I dropped the saw, which stuck straight up in the ground, and gracefully slid down the ladder, which I am a grizzly bear of a man at 285 lbs with the height (5'7") and heart of a teddy bear. I saw power flashes and knew it was coming. It was then that heard the rumble of the notorious freight train. I cut the saw off and looked at him as he began pointing off towards the west. Out of the corner of my eye I see my pink robe sporting hero, and I do mean hero, waving both hands, one of which still clung to a beer. No rain, no breeze, just the saw rumbling and vibrating my hand. It was like I woke up and realized it was deadly still. As I argued in my mind, almost in a trance, about the quickest and easiest way to get this done, it was like someone snapped their fingers in my face.

#EVER FORWARD BUT SLOWLY HOW TO#

The rain had picked up and I began cutting, my mind thinking about how to cover the roof. So I primed and fired up the saw and went halfway up the ladder to get the heaviest part off the roof. It was roughly 11:30 am as I got to the tree I realized my pink robe sporting neighbor had put his ladder up for me right where I needed it. I unlocked the door, grabbed a hoodie and turned the lights on and went to assess the damage with the saw in hand.

ever forward but slowly

He nonchalantly raised his beer and nodded. My neighbor, wearing a pink bathrobe, nodded towards the carport, in a manner that said "it's right there", I waved and said “thanks” and that I'd return it in the morning. Anyway, I pulled in and it was lightly raining. It was odd because with the rain, I figured the atmosphere had stabilized some. It’s in your carport." Apparently, a non-severe storm hit the area and a medium sized tree hit my house.įrustrated, I jumped in my car and headed home. Around 10:45 am, my neighbor of few words sent a text that read "hey, bubba-tree on your bedroom. I was well aware of threat of the storms going into the night. We were blessed and spared that day.įast forward almost 9 years, I was visiting a friend's house for an Easter cookout. We remember 2x4s flying high up in the sky like helicopter propellers. My mother and aunt saw insulation and siding scattered in our yard. I say these names because it’s forever etched in my mind. I prayed that night he and my neighbor Mrs. I also found coloring assignments from an elementary school somewhere I didn’t recognize. Later that night, I found mail in my yard from Cullman, Alabama. I worked at a hardware store and although we weren't directly hit, 2 inch PVC pipe was sucked from outdoor racks and shot 14 inches into a neighboring yard. My teacher said, "class, I don't think we are in Kansas anymore." It touched down less than a mile from us.Īpwas a sad and horrific day for the southeast. I actually stopped the lesson and told the teacher that the sky was turning an ugly, almost evil, green color.

#EVER FORWARD BUT SLOWLY WINDOWS#

I sat by a wall in my classroom that was mostly glass windows and there was some communication between classrooms that our county was under warning, but we never went into the hallway. In the 8th grade, a tornado hit our small town and killed one man. Anyway, I began to study and learn as much about severe weather as I could. For me, the sound of the nuclear plant sirens being used as tornado sirens was the scariest. My mamaw and great grandmother were both horrified of storms, probably an undiagnosed case of lilapsophobia or astraphobia. I grew up both a little frightened and excited by storms and tornadoes. Adam Taylor, Cleveland TN, April 12 (Easter), 2020 PLEASE note that we have permission to print your story online and let us know the town and state and the month and year of the event. If you survived a tornado or know someone who did, share your story and help save lives. This page offers stories submitted by tornado and hail storm survivors.













Ever forward but slowly